in the Year Book for 1905. On April 2 the Dominion Government decided to accept from the Imperial Government the . transfer of the naval dock yard at Halifax and to assume the entire responsibility for its future maintenance.

Thursday, October 18, was appointed by proclamation of the Thanksgiving. Deputy Governor General in Council as a day of thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest and other blessings with which Canada had been favoured during the year.

signs for the provinces of British Columbia and Saskatchewan.

By royal warrant of March 31, directed to the Duke of Nor-Armorial, en folk, K.G., G.V.O., earl marshall and hereditary marshall of England, there was granted to the province of British Columbia to be borne on seals, shields, banners, flags or otherwise according to the Laws of Arms the armorial ensigns following: "Argent three Bars wavy Azure issuant from the base a demi-Sun in splendour proper, on a Chief of the Union Device charged in the centre Point with an Antique Crown Or" By similar warrant of August 25, there was also granted for the province of Saskatchewan the armorial ensigns following: "Vert three Garbs in fesse Or, on a Chief of the last a Lion passant guardant Gules"

The Senate.

Two vacancies in the Senate occurred by death last year. The Hon. John Dobson died on January 27, and the Hon. William Kerr on November 22. New senators appointed and sworn in during the year were the Hon. Robert Jaffray, of Toronto, the Hon. Peter Talbot, of Lacombe, the Hon. L. George DeVeber, of Lethbridge, the Hon. Philippe Roy, of Edmonton, the Hon. James M. Douglas, of Tantallon and the Hon. George Riley, of Victoria, B.C.

mons.

Seventeen vacancies occurred in the House of Commons House of Com-during the year, and the following members were elected to fill them, viz: A. B. Hunt for Compton, Dr. A. N. Worthington for Sherbrooke, George E. McCraney for Saskatchewan, W. E. Knowles for Assiniboia West, Alphonse Verville for Maisonneuve, the Hon. William Templeman for Victoria, B.C., Alexander C. Ross for North Cape Breton and Victoria, N.S., Dr. Wilbert McIntyre for Strathcona, Lorenzo Robitaille for Quebec County, the Hon. W. S. Fielding for Shelburne and Queens, John Tolmie for Bruce North, Médéric Martin for Montreal St. Marie, J. C. Walsh for Montreal St. Anne, G. V. White for Renfrew North. David Marshall for Elgin East, Joseph Demers for St. Johns and Charles R. Devlin for Nicolet.